How to interpret your Birth Chart

How to interpret your Birth Chart

First of all, you're probably wondering, what is a birth chart? 

A Birth Chart is what determines your placements in signs, planets, asteroids etc. At birth, we were all born with a magical chart that defines who we astrologically. A Birth Chart shows us who we are at our core, it calculates the astrological aspects and sensitive angles of the magical moment; our Birth.

Following through, we first must acknowledge all the signs of the zodiac.

  1. Aries - Fire
  2. Taurus - Earth
  3. Gemini - Air
  4. Cancer - Water
  5. Leo - Fire
  6. Virgo - Earth 
  7. Libra - Air 
  8. Scorpio - Water
  9. Sagittarius - Fire
  10. Capricorn - Earth
  11. Aquarius - Air
  12. Pisces - Water

Each of us all have our own Zodiac sign, these signs determine us who we are at our core. The birth chart is a more detailed version of us, one that expresses everything from how we communicate to how we love.  

To access your birth chart you will need a few things:

  1. Birthdate
  2. Birth location
  3. Birth time

These are crucial to getting the exact information. 

A website that is great for accessing your birth chart is Astrocharts 

Now that you have all your information, what does this all mean? Well, firstly you have all your inner planets which rule you as a person and then the outer planets that rule a generation.  

In this birth chart interpretation, I will go into detail on what each planet means and how you can apply it to yourself.

The inner planets are:

  • Sun
  • Moon
  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Mars

The outer planets are:

  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune
  • Pluto

Other aspects:

  • Ascendant
  • Mid Heaven


The Sun is our ego. We revolve around the sun, just as the Planets do. The Sun is our basic identity, who we are at our core. It gives us vitality and light in the darkness. The Sun shows us who we are learning to be, who we are becoming, who we truly are. The Sun is our purpose, our path; where we put our energy in. The Sun tells us how we will leave our mark on the world.


The Moon represents our dark, emotional selves. Its how we display comfort, how we display emotions and who we are when we are alone. It's our instincts, how we react to situations, our sense of security. The Moon is linked to the mother and child, it represents our inner mother and our inner child. The Moon shows us how we protect ourselves. The Moon is the mediator of both our inner and outer world. Some people find that their Moon sign best represents their personality. 


Mercury is the planet that shows us how we communicate. It represents our day to day expression. We learn to understand how we work in groups, break down problems, process information through Mercury. Mercury rules how we approach others, exchange ideas; how we get our point across. Mercury is a prominent Planet in our chart, it has an intense effect on who we are in our everyday life.


Venus, the planet of love. Venus rules what we value, our sentiments, our love language. We learn about what our taste is, what our pleasures in life are, our artistic values. Anything and everything beautiful is within Venus. Venus rules the attachment to others and what kind of love we look for in a person. Venus also shows us what we spend our money on, what luxuries we look for, what we treat ourselves with. 


Mars is the ruler of our instincts, our action, our sex and our aggression. Our sexual desires come under Mars, it rules our body attraction and sexual expression. This is the Planet of action. Our will and motivation are from Mars. Mars is the push to get out of bed, the push to finish that project, the push to be active; our drive in everyday life. This Planet also shows where our impulses are, our aggressions, where we can be forceful. 


Jupiter is the first of the social planets. Jupiter is the ruler of broader purpose, freedom, reach and gratitude. Jupiter has been associated with mental and spiritual growth. Jupiter displays our generosity and tolerance. Jupiter holds our wisdom and understanding. It's the Planet that shows us how to expand and grow with deeper understanding. 


Saturn is the planet of responsibility, limitations and restriction. Saturn brings structure and meaning to our world. Saturn is the responsible planet, it reminds us of the realities we face. Our self-control and commitments are brought to us through Saturn. It's the Planet that is associated with a father authority. It brings discipline, rules, regulations and maturity. Saturn brings us lessons to help us grow in life. 


Uranus is associated with the heavens and skies. It’s known to show us progression and enlightenment. Uranus celebrates individuality, it brings uniqueness and discovery. With this Planet, it also shows us our innovative side. It rules rebellion, where you’ll stir things up, put a new spin on things. Uranus is that part of us where we refuse to blend in. 


Neptune rules our spirituality, our dreams, our illusions. Neptune is associated with intuition and spiritual enlightenment. Neptune is our physic energy, our daydreaming Planet. Neptune rules the invisible realm we all visit in our dreams. It dissolves boundaries. It gives us a poetic outlook on life, it helps us see the beauty in every way possible; our imagination takes over. 


Pluto is the “underworld” its the Planet that shows us below the surface. It's associated with renewal and rebirth, spiritual rebirth, beginnings and endings. Pluto shows us where we see power struggles and issues of control. Pluto is a Planet you share among a generation. Pluto influences us to find a deeper meaning, a willingness to explore the depths of the ocean. Its where we seek transformation and change.


Your Ascendant/Rising sign is how you present yourself to others. It is your mask. Your approach to life. It combines your Sun and Moon, what you want and what you need. When people first meet you they will see you as your Ascendant sign. It describes how we take on life and how we identify our experiences. Our Ascendant sign shows us how we project our goals and make meaning to our life. 


Your Midheaven sign is all about your career and life path. It shows you where you want to make it in life, what mark you want to leave on this Planet. This sign represents our visible achievements in the eyes of society. It’s one of the most public and important signs in your chart and it shows you the goals you want to achieve in life, where you want to be in your career, aspirations, creative outlook, your life goal.


After collecting all this information, you can confidently understand yourself astrologically!